Album: 3 Doors Down: Seventeen Days
Street Date: February 8, 2005
Length: 44:11
Rating: 2.5stars
Reviewed by: Renda

1. Right Where I Belong - The album starts out with a hard hitting rock song that well, rocks. This song is solid, and although doesn't boast anything spectacular it has a driving beat that moves the song forward.

2. It's Not Me - This song is not nearly as good as the first, and although I can't put my finger on what it lacks - it lacks luster. Once again, this is a solid rock song, and yet it seems repetitive and unoriginal.

3. Let Me Go - This is one of the best tracks on the album. The first time I heard this song I was hooked. It doesn't start very spectacularly, but it by the time it hits the chorus I was dancing in my chair and attempting to sing along. It is far less rock than the first two songs, but it hits along the sound that 3DD is good at.

4. Be Somebody - Unfortunately, this song does not rock either, and so following "Let Me Go" it leaves you wondering what happened to the edgy rock that began the album. Sadly, it doesn't catch the listener's attention like the previous song, and it left my finger hovering over the next button.

5. Landing In London - This song is quite stunning, and features Bob Seger. Although I am still skeptical on the placement of this song on the record, it is still a beautiful song. I really think that the record needed a harder song placed here, it does not take away from the track. I would not be surprised if we are hearing this one on the radio in the near future.

6. The Real Life - Obviously, Three Doors Down can write a good ballad, but where is the rock? This song following "Landing in London" pales in comparison. The chorus picks up a bit, but not enough to save the song.

7. Behind Those Eyes - Although, this is not the hard rock song that the album needed at this moment "Behind those Eyes" borders on edgy, and is quite a good track on its own. The chorus begs to be sung along with, and really helps redeem this song.

8. Never Will I Break - Hard guitar rifts drive this song, and it is just the pick-me-up the album needed. The vocals are nothing spectacular, but the guitar is really good in this song. The song has a tense driven feeling.

9. Father's Son - Strong vocals lead this song and carry it to a compelling chorus. This is not a spectacular song at all, and it is just there. Like most of the album nothing sticks out as impressive, or as total crap. It is just music. This song seems to have a deep lyrical meaning, but it is lost in the music.

10. Live For Today - Although this is solid rock song, it seems as if Brad Arnold is trying far too hard on the vocals. The best part of this song is the guitar rift leading into the chorus. I would have loved to hear more of it in the song.

11. My World - This is a song that just kind of flows, and although nothing sticks out as impressive the song is just easy to listen to. The chorus really pulls the song together, and yet the lyrics are so simplistic that they detract from the rock-solid music.

12. Here By Me - The beginning of this song screams radio hit, and this song works as a beautiful ballad. This song is perfect, and one of the best on the album. This was the ideal choice to end the album on.

All in all I think that this album is fun to listen to, but is defiantly not a "must have". Go out and pick up their older album "Away From the Sun" if you don't have it already.

All content is © 2004-2017 / Staff & Site Credits
Arrows To Athens:
Kings & Thieves

4 Stars
( Hear more )

David Hodges